For DJ beginners, having trouble selecting songs, use Nexxtrack!

k5trismegistus
3 min readJun 29, 2021

I have created a web app, “Nexxtrack” to help beginner DJs.

Preface

Recently I started DJing as a hobby. I have some favorite tracks which must be included my playlist. They are not always fit each other due to different keys, tempo, etc…

So I have to have some “bridge” tracks but I had difficulty to select a track after those favorite tracks.

Then, I come up with an idea, I can get help from data.

What I did

There are some website like 1001tracklists, livetracklists that have information of how Pro DJ played ever.

I wanted to search “next tracks” from a certain track. For example, “What track tend to be used after Meduza’s Lose control ?”

But these website does not have such a feature. So I decided to do by myself.

At first, I scraped 280,000 1001tracklists and get tracklists’ title, url, and viewcount. Then analyzed with pandas. (tracklists made between 1st Jan 2000 and 31st Dec 2020)

I found 25% of tracklists have over 1,000 viewcount and decided only use these. (Including over 300,000 individual tracks)

Then I made scores of “Pair of tracks” with viewcount of tracklists.

With this data, it become possible to tell you whick track has the highest score with a certain track.

How to use

There is a textbox in toppage. When you start inputting artist name or track title, suggestion will show. (It’s not smart. it cannot find fuzzy input)

You selected a track from suggestion, recommended “NEXT” tracks will show up.

Pressing “Play” button under the track title, that track will be selected as current playing track and recommended next tracks for that track will show up.

About service (from app)

There are many things you need to learn in order to mix well as a DJ.
One of the most important things you need to learn is how to choose what songs to play.
When you are just starting out, you may not know many songs, so it is difficult to choose songs based on your own knowledge.

In order to improve your sense of song selection, a shortcut is to learn about song selection by professional DJs.
Nexxtrack is a tool that tells you what songs are being played by professional DJs next to that song.
We have analyzed 7,000 of the most popular mixes by professional DJs and created a database of what the pros are mixing.
This allows us to suggest the next song to play for a song.

You can try to find songs that match the songs you like and want to use in your mix, or train yourself to connect the suggested songs.

--

--